‘Is this the UK?’

Qinqin Liu arrived in the UK nine years ago. She has three kids, two of them were born in the UK, the third one lives in China with her granparents. In the interview with our fieldworker, Tom Lam, Qinqin Liu recollects her first impressions of the UK:

I wondered if this was the UK… When I first came… I couldn’t believe this was the UK, so much rubbish! Later I met my friends who had come here earlier… who confirmed this is the country I had wanted to come. Then gradually I accepted this is the UK I had wanted to come.

This entry was posted in voices and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

