‘I really can’t afford to let them take me anymore’ (Xian Li)

Tom Lam interviewed Xian Li in London in August. She arrived in the UK six years ago with her husband. They have two children, a 12 years old boy staying in China with grandparents and Mini, a 3 years old girl born in London. Xian Li is undocumented and is afraid of being deported to China. This fear makes her wary of approaching social services. She explains,

It has been nearly two years since I’ve stoped claiming Child Benefit [for my child]. I don’t know whether they will give it to me, if I claim it again. But I can’t give them an address (can’t let them know where I live). They will come to arrest me wherever I live. I really can’t afford to let them take me anymore; that’s why I am too afraid to claim benefits.

This entry was posted in voices and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

